<u>CROXBY CRAWL: A FEW TWO-LAP FACTS AND FIGURES</u> <u>Revised 12 March 2013</u> <u>By Colin Wright</u>

This year sees the Cleethorpes Athletic Club Croxby Crawl reach its 31st year, with local support from the running community showing no sign of abating.

The first race in 2013 will be the 120th race on this undulating Lincolnshire Wolds Course.

Part of the attraction to the event is that all runners' best times are recorded on the "All Time List" and times can be compared with the "Great's" of yesteryear. Rankings are also recorded in the various age groups. These times are maintained and updated by Steve Green at <u>www.woldsvets.co.uk</u>

HIGHLIGHT OF LAST YEARS RACE SERIES – The one-lap course record which had lasted 28 years was smashed in May by the former Olympian, Anthony Whiteman when he recorded 21.53 for the distance

The former record of 22.36 was set in 1984 by RAF aircraft technician, George Reynolds, who ran the previous years London Marathon in 2.20.40 and in 1985 recorded 49.34 in the RAF 10 Mile Champinoships.

At the same time Anthony also broke George Ely's long established Croxby veteran record of 24.24 which was recorded way back in 1992. One suspects this record will never be beaten unless a 40 year old Kenyan from the Rift Valley enters Croxby!

One month later at the Nashville Music City Carnival, USA, Anthony became the first M40 Master to go sub four minutes for the mile outdoor, when he recorded 3.58.79 Four days later he became the 800 world master record holder outdoors when he clocked 1.48.22 in Indianapolis USA. One month later he also took the World 1500 indoor title at Stretford when he stopped the clock at 3.42.02.

The first ever race on the Croxby circuit was staged on Saturday 26th November 1983. This was a club only event over two-laps and was won by track specialist **Jon Ireland** in a creditable time of 50.45, the turn out was 32 runners with the ladies electing to run one lap which was won by the current race organiser, Jenny Clark. Interestingly only two month's earlier, Louth AC, organised a road race (Wolds Dash) from Hubbard's Hills in the Lincolnshire Wolds and that year also saw the first race in the annual Rothwell 10 (Now Lincolnshire Wolds 10) take place, and after 30 years all three of these events on the Lincolnshire Wolds are still going strong.

The race was thrown open the following year when Grimsby Harrier **Nick Goodwin** recording 51.26 on Easter Monday, with **Jane Knights** from the host club winning the ladies one lap race. November of the same year (1985) saw Diana Otley of Louth Harriers win the inaugural Ladies Race recording 63.34

The following year (1985) saw a unique double, as husband and wife **Dennis and Barbara Brown** of Grimsby Harriers, both won in course record times. Dennis Brown was the first runner to go sub 50 minutes with his 49.27 course record, with Humber Marathon winner Barbara Brown reducing the ladies course record to 60.10.

On August of the same year Liverpool Harrier **Kevin Capper** set a new course record, of 46.15, which still stands to this day, knocking 2 minutes 13 seconds off the time set only the previous month. Kevin finished 3 minutes 34 seconds in front of runner-up **Chris Bromfield**, with **John Haines** setting the host club record of 49.53. The first and only time 3 runners in the same event have gone sub 50 minutes.

Kevin Capper's opening lap during his 46.15 course record was clocked at 22.42; only 6 seconds shy of George Reynolds one-lap course record.

The current Ladies course record was set in 1992 when **Lisa Mawer** then running for Cleethorpes AC, recorded 53.55, knocking 27 seconds off **Kim Bennett's** course record

In 1999 **William Gristwood** of Ealing, Southall and Middlesex, was the first veteran to win the two-lap event, knocking 1 minute 24 seconds off **Alf Woods'** 12-year veterans course record. In fact veterans filled the first 3 places.

In 2009 the 100th race at Croxby attracted a record field of 168 runners. The previous record turnout was back in 1987 when 141 lined up for the starter.

The record turnout for the two-lap event is 97 in 1987,

Vanessa Aisthorpe holder of the W35 course record is undoubtedly the most successful runner on the Croxby Circuit, winning the two-lap event no less than 15 times, with 11 of these in a row. This sequence runs from 1993 to 1998.

Ian Chidwick is the only runner to have won Croxby over three decades, his first win was in 1989 and his latest set in June 2000. He is the fifth fastest on the all time list with 48.21 (1992 and has a record six two-lap wins to his credit.

In June of 2005 **Neil Farquharson** clocked 53.51, the fastest time by an unattached runner, not previously a member of an athletics club.

Since the sequence of 2 one lap and 2 two lap's, started in 1987, only Martin Formstone in 2010 and Vanessa Aisthorpe in 1997 has done the Grand Slam of winning all four events in the same year.

The youngest winners of the two-lap event are: **John Stephenson** when on 3rd June 1987 he recorded 48.57, aged 19 years 4 months and 14 days, and Diana Otley on 25th November 1984, when she recorded 63.34 aged 18 years 5 months 4 days.

The most prolific runners at Croxby are **Tony Dann**, **John Hudson**, **Andrew Gristwood**, **Dave Edwards** and the late **Barry Dodge** who have each competed in over 50 races each whilst **Beverley Wilson** is the leading lady with 44 events.