Croxby Race Map and details
2011 Dates
Race Map

2 Lap all time lists MALE     FEMALE

Revised 19th February 2011
Colin Wright

This year sees the Cleethorpes Athletic Club Croxby Crawl reach its 29th year, with local support from the running community showing no sign of abating.

The first race in 2011 will be the 111th race on this undulating, Lincolnshire Wolds Course.

Part of the attraction to the event is that all runners’ best times are recorded on the “All Time List” and times can be compared with the “Great’s” of Yesteryear. Rankings are also recorded in the various age groups. These times are maintained and updated by Steve Green at

The first ever race on the Croxby circuit was first staged on Saturday 26th November 1983. This was a club only event over two-laps and was won by track specialist Jon Ireland in a creditable time of 50.45, the turn out was 32 runners with the ladies electing to run one lap which was won by the current race organiser, Jenny Clark. Interestingly only two month’s earlier Louth AC organised a road race ( Wolds Dash ) from Hubbards Hills in the Lincolnshire Wolds and that year also saw the first race in the annual Rothwell 10 ( Now Lincolnshire Wolds 10 ) take place, and after 29 years all three of these events on the Lincolnshire Wolds are still going strong.

The race was thrown open the following year when Grimsby Harrier Nick Goodwin recording 51.26 on Easter Monday, with Jane Knights from the host club winning the ladies one lap race.

November of the same year (1985) saw Diana Otley of Louth harriers win the inaugural Ladies Race recording 63.34

The following year (1985) saw a unique double, as husband and wife Dennis and Barbara Brown of Grimsby Harriers, both won in course record times. Dennis Brown was the first runner to go sub 50 minutes with his 49.27 course record, with Humber Marathon winner Barbara Brown reducing the ladies course record to 60.10.

On August of the same year Liverpool Harrier Kevin Capper set a new course record, which still stands to this day of 46.15, knocking 2 minutes 13 seconds off the time set only the previous month. Kevin finished 3 minutes 34 seconds in front of runner-up Chris Bromfield, with John Haines setting the host club record of 49.53. The first and only time 3 runners in the same event have gone sub 50 minutes.

Kevin Capper's opening lap during his 46.15 course record was clocked at 22.42; only 6 seconds shy of George Reynolds one-lap course record.

The current Ladies course record was set in 1992 when Lisa Mawer then running for Cleethorpes AC, recorded 53.55, knocking 27 seconds off Kim Bennett’s course record

In 1999 William Gristwood of Ealing, Southall and Middlesex, was the first veteran to win the two-lap event, knocking 1 minute 24 seconds off Alf Woods' 12 year veterans course record. In fact veterans filled the first 3 places.

In 2009 the 100th race at Croxby attracted a record field of 168 runners. The previous record turn-out was back in 1987 when 141 lined up for the starter.

The record turnout for the two-lap event is 97 in 1987,

Vanessa Aisthorpe holder of the W35 course record is undoubtedly the most successful runner on the Croxby Circuit, winning the two-lap event no less than 15 times, with 11 of these in a row. This sequence runs from 1993 to 1998.

Ian Chidwick is the only runner to have won Croxby over three decades, his first win was in 1989 and his latest set in June 2000. He is the fifth fastest on the all time list with 48.21 (1992 and has a record six two-lap wins to his credit.

In June of 2005 Neil Farquharson clocked 53.51, the fastest time by an unattached runner, not previously a member of an athletics club.

Since the sequence of 2 one lap and 2 two lap’s, started in 1987, only Martin Formstone in 2010 and Vanessa Aisthorpe in 1997 has done the Grand Slam of winning all four events in the same year.

The youngest winners of the two-lap event are: John Stephenson when on 3rd June 1987 he recorded 48.57, aged 19 years 4 months and 14 days, and Diana Otley on 25th November 1984, when she recorded 63.34 aged 18 years 5 months 4 days.

The most prolific runners at Croxby are Tony Dann ,John Hudson and the late Barry Dodge who have each competed in over 50 races each whilst Glenys Hudson is the leading lady with 38 events. 

                                                     All time lists and age records collated by Steve Green

2011 Race Dates

All races are £3.00 each and entry is on the night only Start time is 19.00

Race 1     4th May            1 Lap              TOP
Race 2     1st June           2 Lap
Race 3     6th July            2 Lap
Race 4     3rd August       1 Lap
Race 5     31st August     1 Lap
1 Lap is 4.44 miles = 4 miles 780yds.  UKA measured by Steve Green


croxbyloop_profile.JPG (105339 bytes)

Race Map


home41.gif (1587 bytes)  TOP                  mail-me1.gif (3380 bytes)